New Peltiers

OniExpress

Limp Gawd
Hi folks. So I've recently aquired three 600 watt peltiers, and now I'm looking for the most functional equipment to use them with. My ideal goal is a rack-mount oil immersion setup; motherboard trays will be aranged from side to side vertically, with space equivalent to three 4U bays slid in from the top. Right now I don't have call for that kind of space, so instead I'd like to set up a smaller immersion for a single atx system.

I've been researching this project off-and-on for quite a few years, but I've still not seen a consensus about a few questions. For starters, I'm not sure if I would get a better distribution of chilled oil from immersed radiators/coldplates or from simply pumping the whole mass of the fluid out through the peltiers. Using a radiator seems to me like it would eliminate the most hotspots (fluid dynamics being what they are, I can't think of an easy way to distribute the chilled oil across a large tank), and it would also seem to be the more convenient option. I just don't recall ever seeing it done that way before.

My preferred option at the moment is to sandwich the peltier between two heatsinks; one pumping the cold side out through the immersed radiator and the other side going to a large reservoir to dissipate heat. Ammong other problems, I've only found one coldplate (on eBay, no less) that seems to fit the bill (copper with copper pipe wound through it) for against the peltier itself.

Alright, enough rambling. That's enough for a first thread; I'll wait to see if I get any feedback. >_>

Don't rely on unassisted onvection within the fluid.

I would get a 1/2" copper tube (that's equal to the width of your tank), solder one end shut (use a copper cap) then drill about 10 small holes in it facing upwards. Place the tube at the bottom-middle of the tank.